Sheng Yang He elected to National Academy of Sciences

Post date: Jun 5, 2015 4:30:47 PM

National Academy of Science Logo

Sheng-Yang He, a MSU Distinguished Professor in the MSU-DOE Plant Research Laboratory Department of Plant Biology, Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, and Department of Plant, Soil and Microbial Sciences, was selected as part of the 2015 class. He earned the honor for his seminal contributions to the understanding of plant-pathogen interactions.

“I am extremely honored to receive this recognition and am greatly indebted to my former and current lab members and collaborators for their memorable contributions,” He said. “MSU provides a great environment for pursuing a dream career that I could not have imagined when I was growing up in a small village in China.”

He’s work has focused on investigating infectious disease susceptibility in plants. This pioneering research led to He being honored as an investigator by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation in 2011. As a professor and investigator, He continues to explore a molecular understanding of the plant immune system and how bacterial pathogens cause disease.

“This year marks the 20th anniversary of my faculty appointment at MSU,” He said. “I am very lucky to have worked with so many great colleagues, staff and supportive administrations.”

This year’s academy cadre includes 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from 15 countries in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

The NAS is a private, nonprofit institution established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and – with the National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine and National Research Council – provides science, technology and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.